top of page
Search
  • qtd9864

Moving Image

Updated: Oct 31, 2022

Using my cinematic device in the site, I captured the movements of walking through Fort Lane, Imperial Lane and Queens Arcade. I recorded myself walking through these spaces in a first person view.





From these videos, I saved images by reviewing each frame. As I tediously viewed the videos frame by frame, I wanted to capture the movement of the camera as I walked through the space. I have displayed this in my image sequences as still images that have had frames removed, showing a change in the environment and changes in the frames. This shows a staggered view of the space. What I like about this is that the images aren't all at the same angle or focus.


I also played with overlapping two different images from the same location and reducing the opacity. This resulted in a different kind of staggered look, distorting what you are looking at.


Because the viewpoint is so low to the ground, it creates a viewpoint of looking up into the space, but also views that are more focusing on the ground itself. I liked how this created a relationship with the ground, and connection we have as we walk along the space. The fragmented images are captured from the videos.


Playing with this idea of motion and staggering, I emphasized the blurriness and distortion of the still images in photoshop. This made the images look like there was water in the space, or even the site was submerged in water. Before the development of the shoreline, this area used to be water, and the way my cinematic device captured that made me more interested in the history of the space. Is there something that can be peeled back and uncovered?


 

Leo Villareal - Star Ceiling


Thinking about how moving image can showcase the movement of water through lights, I came across the artist Leo Villareal. Villareal uses lights to express the vibrant dynamism of nature and explores the tension between the rational and the transcendent, between the human and the non-human worlds. One thing in particular that I find interesting about his work is the way the lighting captures movement.


Comments


bottom of page