top of page
Search
  • qtd9864

Facade Designing

Updated: Sep 7, 2022


Here is my surface design all put together. For the smaller pieces I did have to glue them onto the underlying pieces, luckily it didn't alter the opaqueness. Now that it is finished, I added it to my elevation to see how it would work as a façade.



I like how it looks against the building, but I feel like there is something missing, or not quite right with the design. As a entrance threshold, having a flat façade that does not intercept the site will not work to get people to see/use the space I am designing. Perhaps the water inspired curves can be integrated to the form of the panels that flow into the lane way. I want the entrance to be a transitional threshold that opens into the lane way and imperial lane, a immersive area that takes you into a reflection space of the historical entities of the site.




As I am developing this concept of using the history of the site, I want to re-evaluate the site - what does the site already have? What is it missing? Are there any details that capture the history?


There is a lot of decay in the site that is visible on the exterior of imperial lane and visible in the drooping of the lane way. Its like water is leaving traces behind, through the deterioration of manmade structures. Water marks and rust are present on imperial lane. I like this concept of decay and the deterioration of reclaimed land. How can this concept tell the history of the site?



Comments


bottom of page