top of page
Search
  • qtd9864

Experiencing the Design

Updated: Sep 7, 2022

Initial Storyboard:


Diving deep into the storyboard exercise, I wasn't sure what my design looked like or consisted of. I started drawing off of ideas in my head that could tell the story of the history. Image 1 are these panels that are situated in Fort Lane, resembling the 8 different shorelines. As you walk through the space, LED lights behind each panel dim until it reaches the final panel which is the current shoreline, repeating this sequence as people use the lane way. Image 2 is the façade design which I added an opening for the entrance to imperial lane. Image 3 is looking in imperial lane, this is a light box that projects and illuminates the linework of the shoreline. Image 4 is at the top of the slope which a projector screen showcases a moving image of the changing shoreline. Image 5 I created these openings in the second floor in which people can view the space from a higher level. There is a hanging water ceiling which projects water movements into the space, giving a sense of being underwater, which it would be if we didn't reclaim the land. Image 6 is viewing the façade from inside, looking into the lane way. I think this was a great start to developing my design and generating ideas, this exercise has made me think about how I can show the history of the space without being too literal with the shoreline linework.


Developing my storyboard I decided to change image 4, the angle of the original one did not capture the idea of a projection screen, I also thought about adding in some seating for people to sit down and watch this moving image of the phases of the shoreline.


Draft Design Pitch:


“Waterscapes” is a temporary installation that pays tribute to the pre-existing shoreline that is now the waterfront of Tamaki-Makaurau. Through iterative changes, the shoreline once consisted of an organically shaped shoreline, to an urban driven, built environment with geometric shapes and lines. The land was stripped away and drained and made to what we now know as Fort Lane. My design acknowledges these changes to the land and emphasizes on the environmental degradation of the land that has been caused by this tearing away of nature.


Illuminating light shining through a ceiling of water casts the water's movements and glimmering to mimic being in/under water as it was historically. The space reinvents historical memories that are now cast over with pavements with the use of light and movement of water. It calls for a mindset of reflection. This translucent contour façade wraps around the exterior of the building, creating this transition from the built up urbanism of Fort Lane to this dark, interior showcasing water and contributions to the shoreline. Along Fort Lane is this large panel that showcases the different shorelines that the waterfront went through. As you walk through Fort Lane, LED lights behind this panel go through a cycle of turning off and on through each step of the changing shoreline. A projection within the space, is a repeating projection that is a moving image of the changing shoreline, it emphasizes the immense change and reclamation of the land.

 

Revisiting my façade design, I wanted to test out bending acrylic to see how this may look if I were to change the design. I really liked how it turned out, I tried different shapes and forms and found that the curved bends worked best. After having a chat with Sue, this idea of the façade curving into the laneway generates this stopping motion of people walking through the laneway. The façade can enter imperial lane as well, creating a entrance threshold that doesn't cut off at the entrance, but flows in, transitioning you into the exhibition space.


Getting this feedback really helped me to move forward in my design, I got a bit stuck but focusing on my façade/entrance design may change my ideas for the whole interior of imperial lane.


 

Experimenting with how light alters the surface design, differentiating opaqueness, how it projects shadows.

From my storyboard I wanted to try capture the movement of water like I envisioned for the storyboard exercise. I then projected the water movements on top of my surface design. Projecting onto panels - this narrative of moving water - generating moving image through light, projection. What if my panels are actually water? Could I use water in my design? How could I use water to reiterate memory and water?

Σχόλια


bottom of page