top of page
Search
  • qtd9864

Week 10 Co-Design Workshop

Updated: Oct 31, 2022

From my research about the fabrication of the facade, I think using stud mounts will work best as acrylic spacers will not be long enough for the gaps in-between each panel. For the co-design workshop I had quickly mocked up an axonometric exploded detail view and a section of how the stud mounts will work using rhino and illustrator. I also gathered all my process work that is relevant to my project - my surface designs that imitate ocean waves and fluidity.


When starting to model and render my storyboard, I decided to leave all the current materials in Imperial Lane, especially the original brick walls. I then added in my projection where the moving images will be screened. I also modelled my acrylic panels turned seats and placed these in the interior based on my sketched floor plan. I added in basic lighting and quick renders that don't really show all the key moments in the space.



 

Feedback


For the co-design workshop I had Ceili Murphy. She gave some great feedback of my work from what was working to not working. The seating in the centre of the service way didn't quite work with my design, this was rushed on my behalf and I didn't feel like it was working either - needs more working through and work with layout for a more thought-out, concise design. One comment from Ceili was how my design was almost an ode to salt, with the salt sculpture and focusing on the coastal environment - perhaps this can be expanded and become a main driver in my project. She suggested making the salt sculpture bigger and possibly even reducing the size of the project to be a more intimate, personal space and personal experience. Because my salt sculpture would drip onto concrete, this would take a long time, mentioned by Ceili, another material that I could possibly use is clay. The salt water would dissolve and erode the clay, just like how I wanted with the concrete, just at a faster pace.


When looking at my facade, she was a bit confused of the sizing. I had made it slightly longer than Imperial Lane, and taller than the second floor without any reason. She suggested lining the facade up with the building for more neatly, lined up facade. The entrance to the building was also very large, and was pointed out by Ceili. I hadn't really thought about it but I did agree it was too big. Depending on what I want to show, I can reduce the width of the entrance to become a more regular sized entryway. The height of the entryway I could also reduce, but I think I want to leave it extending up so people who are walking by can see the salt sculpture and other elements within the building.


With all this in mind, I let these ideas and suggestions simmer in my mind and then began thinking about how I could develop my project. Ceili's comment about reducing the size and making a more intimate space, I think this could work, but I know that would be too small for a centre. The space could be divided up into different spaces. The first space where people enter from Fort Lane could be the sculpture - which shows how water holds memory, which is through dissolving substances, and also addressing the environmental degradation of the site and the deterioration and decay present in the site. The second site I imagine is a space where memories will be revived through visual cues such as the moving images of coastal landscapes.


Following Ceili's suggestions about the facade, I have lined up the facade with the width of the building and the height of the first floor to the second floor. I have also moved the panels closer together to reduce the width of the entrance as it was just a bit too big, and creates a better transitional space between the interior and exterior.



Comments


bottom of page