top of page
Search
  • qtd9864

Centre of Memory

Updated: Oct 31, 2022

Imperial Lane:


The Imperial buildings were built between 1886 and 1911, 46 years after the shoreline began land reclamation. The restoration, designed by Fearon and Hay, reveals original materials such as brick, timber and stone, and an upgraded connection between Fort Lane and Queen Street. Before the revamp, the slope that currently exists in Imperial Lane used to slope in the other direction, from Fort Lane down to Queen Street. The change in slope was to acknowledge the drop in Fort Lane. Their concept was to bring in movement, light and air.


Revisiting Facade Design:


Talking through my ideas to Sue, and the design changes with my facade, we talked about the issues I was facing having the facade that large. She pointed out that its not really adding anything to the space, and with all the problems being that big, specifically cutting off the entrances to other buildings, that it would be best to keep it to Imperial Lane where the main focus is, which I completely agreed with.


As for the interior of Imperial Lane, the staggering panels that flow into the space, have been altered to be seating where visitors can sit or lay down, offering contrasting perspectives. I am not sure where the salt sculpture or seating is going to positioned yet in the space, however I know that there is something missing in my design. Sue spoke about adding a screening room where other artists that focus on seascapes could display their work. I think adding in these works will revive these memories of the site once being part of the ocean. Works could include Tacita Deans Disappearance At Sea, The Green Ray, and Sonya Lacey's By Sea (suggested by Sue), and other artists that I may come across in my research.

 

Making plans for co-design workshop:


With the feedback and suggestions by Sue and what I want the space to be, I reverted back to the original facade, and started sketching the staggering panels into seats and situating them in the space. With the new element of a projection screen displaying moving image film, the seating needs to be focusing on this element for viewers to comfortably view the screen. Ultimately I think integrating the screen and seating in the centre will create fluidity and movement in the service way, rather than the option of dividing a screening room to a corner or side of the space.


The history of the site is very influential to my project, when making my site plan, not only did I want to show where my project is in relation to the waterfront, but to also show the history of the waterfront because it is important. Using the original shoreline as a timeline, I have included photographs of the waterfront in different stages of development. Showing a snippet of the history to get an idea of what the site used to entail.

 

salt sculpture details - halite - concrete - suspending


The site shows a lot of deteriorating and decay, some due to water and some to the reclaimed land. Water is a powerful element that can create growth and decay. I want this concept of growth and decay to be illustrated in my project. It is apart of the history of the space. I am not sure I would show this but I want to display some sort of sculpture. Running through the ideas in my head I have sketched how this could look. I am interested in using salt water, and salt to make a salt crystal. Displaying the process of how water holds memory, dissolving salt and evaporating water. Using and making salt crystals to crystallize and preserve these memories.


Researching about natural salt weathering and the damage of salt on natural landscapes and concrete. Its amazing to see how something so small can cause such damage. With the reclaimed land not being excavated, I wonder if the salt in the soil layers as a play into why Fort Lane is eroding and drooping.


Comments


bottom of page